The Queen’s Book Talk #2 : Heir of Fire ( Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas

image

Paperback, 562 pages
Published September 11th 2014 by Bloomsbury Childrens (first published September 2nd 2014)
ISBN 1408839121 (ISBN13: 9781408839126)

image

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Crown of Midnight

image

After finishing Crown of Midnight, I immediately started Heir of Fire. Because Crown of Midnight was fast paced and action packed from start to end, I expected the same kind of intensity for Heir of fire but I was dissappointed. The first part of this book was excruciatingly long and slow so it was hard for me to get through with it. Little did I know that the slow start is just a preparation for the awesomeness that was coming. Slowly throughout the book, Maas transformed the series into a much wider and broader spectrum of upcoming events and awesome plot. The slow introduction of new characters and new twists and turns made the wait worth while. It had me gripping on my sit as I was nearing the end and screaming certain characters’ name which I am still reeling from because that cliff hanger is just evil. Nonetheless I applaud Maas because she can make me be so sleepy in one second then flying off my sit the next with the turn of events in this book.

image

This is a spoilery part of my book talk so if you haven’t read the series then you can go. 😄

Let me start with my ships.
Chaolena. Across the ocean.
As we all know, Chaol shipped Celaena to Wendelyn so this ship is on the rocks. The lack of Chaolena moments in the first parts of the book made me so sad I need to stop for a few moments and just breathe. The fact that Celaena is with Rowan and just training instead of Chaol and Celaena just irks me and makes me want to throw stuff at people. Yes I know Chaol is probably scared shit of Celaena being a Fae but I think he really loves her. What bothers me is why can’t he be totally loyal to her? Yes I know integrity and all the shenanigans are importanf but why does he even think so much of the things that are obviously not worth his loyalty? Sometimes Chaol’s decisions are so noble that he’s beggining to be a pain in the ass.

Dorian. And Sorscha. I. Hate. It. Seriously. I know I’m being selfish and all but he said he love Celeana! I know he has to move on and all that shits but I cannot handle it. I don’t want him loving no one else but my girl. And to say that ” He’d been a fool once, swearing he would tear the world apart for Celaena. A boy in love with a wildfire—or believing he was in love with one. ” This hurt me more than it should have. When I read how they cuddle each other and be sweet to each other I couldn’t just handle it. It was like he was being disloyal to my girl and I am having nothing of that.

Aedion. This was a big plot twist for me. I didn’t think that he’d be good. i didn’t see the fake ring and the facade coming. I just thought that he was like the others that will do anything to be on top. His loyalty to Aelin goes beyond anobody else’s and that’s what I like about him. I can also feel that he loves her but who doesn’t? 😄

Rowaaaaan! I am a sucker for brooding guys that’s why i love Chaol so much but hey Rowan is sooooo the epitomy of brooding. His lack of expressions makes him more readable and therefore making his little reactions to Celaena sweeter. I know they say what they have is mere friendship and no romantic inclination but their actions say otherwise.

Celaena’s powers are amazing. She can create fire! She is like the fantasy version of Girl on Fire. In this book it is shown that she is really not undestructible as to how many times Rowan beat her up but it showed how much she can push herself to be better. My girl is showing a lot of character growth and that is amazing. The way she handles herself. Sure and unsure at the same time just shows how strong and human she really is.

Manon Blackbeak! These new characters of witches are very much welcome. They may be vicious but you can see that there is a bond in them and that makes them compassionate enough and I love it! Manon is such a strong character and I hope that she has a big part on this series.

Also the last pages! Omygoodness Aedion’s imprisonment, Chaol’s fleeing, Dorian’s show of power and Sorcha’s death. I was screaming until the end because the scene was so intense that I do not want to stop because someone may be in grave danger if I do. And at last Chaol took a stand! Yes finally! I am so worried about what happened to Dorian and Aedion that I did not even realize Celaena is going back to Adarlan and I am excited on what is going to happen.

image

Giving this masterpiece 5 stars (obviously) because slow build up even though annoying is still the best way to make a grander end. Looking forward to the rest of the series in the books! 😉

Leave a Reply

