The Queen’s Book Talk #5 : The Heir ( The Selection Series #4 ) by Kiera Cass

image

Paperback, International Edition, 342 pages

Published May 5th 2015 by HarperTeen (first published January 1st 2015)

ISBN0062391305 
(ISBN13: 9780062391308)
Edition language: English
Series: The Selection #4

image

Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own. Eadlyn doesn’t expect her Selection to be anything like her parents’ fairy-tale love story. But as the competition begins, she may discover that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she always thought.

image

Before I start my book talk for The Heir, let me just say that the trilogy has  been long enough and I don’t even know why Cass felt the need to follow it up. No hate but seriously sometimes you just got to know where things should end. I loved the trilogy. I loved the story enough that I endured America’s undecidedness and looked the other way. I still don’t know if it was a good decision that she followed it up because to be honest The Heir was a disaster.

At first, I was liking Eadlyn. I like her style, het courage, her independence and sense of power but as the book goes on, she just became a whiney little princess only caring about her precious little throne and her tiaras. She is so selfish in a way that she wants the throne but not the responsibilities with it. She often say in the book that Ahren cheated on her by that seven minutes then she will say in another that she beat Arhen in that seven minutes. I was like , “Girl make up your mind, do you want to be Queen or not?”. It was like she wants to be a Queen that when the going gets tough she blaims her twin brother for being younger seven minutes. The way she handled the news about the Selection is I think pretty genuine. For a girl who has been led to believe that she will be a Queen she  certainly want it to be her own doing and not have a King that will be more powerful than her. I understand some of her behavior but sometimes she just get on my nerves.

Let’s go to the ships. I do not have any ship in this book. Why? Because Cass didn’t even give any hints of a straight path for a ship. They were all just snippets and even Kile’s moment even though very sweet and very predictable have been very brief and still very uncertain. Her moments with Henri and Erik are very vague,  Somewhat leading on that they might be something then Eadlyn would back out and then it will be gone again. It was like she was really testing the waters even if she doesn’t really want to. I just hope that in the next book she makes up her mind if this is a love triangle or square or any polygon for that matter.

Ahren. Why? Why did he had to do that? Elope? Immediately? Seriously? And the words he said to Eadlyn? Some of it may be true but you just don’t leave a letter like that and leave. I expected more from him and it was just dissappointing. I know he loves Eadlyn and I totally understand the letter but he should have had the balls to say it in front of her and not just leave a freaking letter.

Now to the older characters.
Aspen and Lucy. Mr. And Mrs. Woodwork. So nostalgic to read about these pairs from the trilogy. I am actually happy that they are together. Even though Aspen and Lucy can’t have their own child which is just sad, it just bring joy to me that despite their past they are all still together. Aspen and Eadlyn being together in a room and Aspen protecting to her reminded me of how he protected America before. Very nostalgic indeed.

America and Maxon. It is no secret that I hate America. I hate how indecisive and stupid she was before in her life choices but now she seems very Queen-like. I liked that. And Maxon seems older than he should be. They both are. Cass made them sound like fifty year olds when in truth they are barely forty. I loved that their characters transitioned to plain annoying and stupid and reckless to well mannered and wise King and Queen.

The Ending! America is too young for a  heart attack and we all know that. And after all this time that Cass loved her then she’ll kill her now? Why? So het death can be used as an excuse for the public to symphatize to the monarchy and stop the rebellion? I don’t know. I am also sensing Lady Bryce is kind of fishy and I think she’ll have a big role in the next book.

image

In conlusion, as I said above, it was a disaster. I hope Cass would focus more on the Selection and where she wants this to go rather than do drastic things to her characters. Giving this book 3 stars because there is always room for improvement.

image

Leave a Reply

