The Queen’s Book Talk #11 : Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil

image

ebook, 316 pages
Published February 1st 2013 by Hardie Grant Books
ISBN1742739588

image

Life in Outer Space is a romantic comedy about a movie geek & the dream girl he refuses to fall in love with. Sam Kinnison is a geek, and he’s totally fine with that. He has his horror movies, his nerdy friends, World of Warcraft – and until Princess Leia turns up in his bedroom, worry about girls he won’t. Then Camilla Carter arrives on the scene. She’s beautiful, friendly and completely irrelevant to his plan. Sam is determined to ignore her, except that Camilla has a plan of her own – and he seems to be a part of it! Sam believes that everything he needs to know he can learn from the movies. But perhaps he’s been watching the wrong ones.

image

I LOVED IT! I FREAKING LOVED IT!

I am not big on highschool themed contemporary novels but this book made me laugh, swoon, cry all at the same time. It made me miss my highschool friends. It made me look at my parents and appreciate that they are still very much together and not messed up. It made me appreciate people who actually believe in me and care about me enough to know my troubles. I may not have someone I live but hey I knew the feeling. I love how the group grew and that the story was not focused on the couple only. I loved it so much I’m smiling and crying a bit right this instant.

Sam and Camilla were so cute together! It was obvious from the start that Camilla had a thing for Sam but he was so low of himself to thing that it was even possible. I loved all the time that they were hanging out with each other. And the support Camilla showed to Sam when his parents split up that even she was away she made ways to help him. That was beyond sweet.

I love the gang’s friendship. The way that they care for each other and look out for each other was so touching. I love Mike. I love Adrian. I love Allison. I love them all.

image

With that I am giving this baby 4 royal stars because it’s a perfect coming of age book. The way these kids handle individual problems and group problems may be flawed but it all was okay in the end. Kudos!

image

Leave a Reply

