The Queen’s Book Talk # 20 : Winter ( The Lunar Chronicles #4 ) by Merissa Meyer

image

Hardcover, 827 pages
Published November 10th 2015 by Feiwel and Friends
ISBN 0312642989
URL http://www.marissameyer.com/book/book-four/
Series The Lunar Chronicles #4

image

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? 

image

This Book Talk will be divided to 5 book individual reviews and an overall review. If there are typos please forgive my fangirling self. These are raw feelings while reading the book. Enjoy!

Book 1

Fucking intense. I have been reading for hours and I am just beggining I kennat comprehend how thick this book is. Starting from the first chapter with Winter turning to ice and the illusions and hallucinations, I know this book willbe wild. I already knew I will be in one hell of a ride. The first book has souch Jacin and Winter and Kai and Cinder and Cress and Thorne and Wolf sad and Scarlet sad moments that I just want the gang to all be happy together. Kai Cinder moments were so swoony I may just melt on the spot. Cress and Thorne’s moments are a little annoying knowng they both like each other but to stubborn to acknowledge it. Wolf. Ohmygod my baby Wolf I can’t imagine what he must be feeling right now. And Scarlet. Being a pet and all. That pretty much sucks. Winter and Jacin. These two are so so so good with each other but damn you Levana they cannot be together. So I’m just going to fast forward to the last chapter. Fuck Levana for searching the ship.  Damn Thorne! You do not go sacrificing yourself Again! My heart stopped a bit I swear it. I was like no Cinder no don’t let him do it if he dies i may not recover. No no no. But then again he does then they run they run so much adrenaline pumping in my Nerves while they go searching for thorne and shooting at him while the entire gang runs to hide then Cress steps up and open the doors and they all got through and she gets left behind and Thorne being all broken hearted and all I just want to cry.

Book 2

Ugh. Ugh. Ugh. Thank God Meyer isn’t heartless. I love her so much. She might divide the gang every once in a while but she still finds a way to bring them back together. I am so glad Winter found Cress! I wouldn’t want to think what would happen to Thorne if she won’t survive. All throught the journey to RM 9 I can feel the tension off Thorne and Cinder and it makes me so sad that they had to leave Cress without any knowledge if she’s safe. The moment Wolf saw her mother? So touching. But the highlight of Book 2? Jacin being ordered to kill Winter. Levana is really killing it with villainy, literafuckingly. Who does that? Who orders a guy who loves her to kill her niece? Who fucking does that? And Cress. Staying behind again?! Again? Ugh Thorne will be so sad I kennat calm down. Jacin and Scarlet and Winter and Ryu in the menagerie I kennat. Ryu may be bad before but not im just sad that he needed to die. Fast forward to Wolf sniffing out Scarlet. And him seeing her and kissing her instantly and me swooning to the ground and realizing how much I missed these two. Seeing them all being together and I really really love it. It is sad that Cress isn’t with them but the way Thorne was so relieved to see Cress was okay was worth it. Fast forward again to the revolution because if I don’t we’ll be here forever. That speech was so Katniss Everdeen I’m so sorry. The whole rebellion looks a lot like THG and the Kai speech and all and I think it’s okay but I really think Meyer can do a lot better. Shoo shoo now im off to book 3.

Book 3

Apparently we have crossovered to Hunger Games Rebellion x Red Queen instant show of power when forced. Yes I get it we need this but as far as the book goes this part I don’t like. Why? Just because i don’t know. I honestly don’t know. Maybe because I expected more from Cinder? But nevertheless I am so happy that the gangs almost together again!

Book 4

I have few words for this book. If Thorne dies, I’m going to sue.

Book 5

I really wanted to do a more thorough review for this book because it was so awesome I can’t breathe. Literally can’t breathe. All that mind manipulation just went out of control. Cress really outdid herself in this part. They all did. They are fucking heroic that’s what they all are. My breath was hitching all the time every page. I was too scared move or flip the page because too many people were getting stabbed that I was starting to lose my mind. Too many were getting hurt and at one point i was afraid no one will survive. It was all to much for me so forgive me if I’ll just fast forward when Levana told the story behind her scars and as bad as she is, she’s just a victim too. But justice must be served so yeah that fight was an epic one that I just didn’t want to read it because i was so nervous but at the same time i can’t stop! Everyone was hurting and killing each other without control of their own bodies and everybody getting stabbed and shot i was so on edge and was like when will this fucking stop?! Finally it stopped. Damn. With all of them down. Damn. Flipping the page like crazy to know if they survive or what and I was so so happy that they are all okay. Maybe Winter is a bit on the rocks but all is well and I am more than happy. I must admit the Thorne and Cress scene made me cry. Thorne is so confident that when he said those things about him not deserving Cress, I was crying i didn’t even know. I was just so touched and if I was Cress I would have melt on the spot. I had to grab my tissues and all along to the end to Kai and Cinder. I love it. I love every single part of it.

Overall

All of you might say that a 827 page book will be boring af because who does that?! Who writes a book that thick without a dull moment? Apprently Marissa Meyer does because this book is a fucking page turner. I know I know I’m being biased because I already love the series so much but many can go wrong with just one wrong move from Meyer but no no no. She did just what I wanted for the story to become and I am so happy for the finale of this series. I just want to say Thank you to Marissa Meyer because she gave me a forever within the numbered pages and I will be forever grateful. This may have a bit of Hunget Games feels but I still love it so  much that I was willing to overlook that fact. I loved her writing skills. I love love love it. You may think I am running out of adjectives but I just love her so much and what she does with her characters and how much she cares for each and every one of them. I will definitely miss the gang. And I’ll just cut this short because I may cry so hard.

image

5/5 Royal Stars and you all know it.

image

Leave a Reply

