[ Queen’s Blog Feature ] Author of the Month : Christine Brae

image

Hi bookish friends! Today I will be sharing with you a brief interview for my Author of the Month for January, none other than the Smart and Beautiful Ms. Christine Brae! *claps claps everywhere*

Name :  Christine Brae
Age :  Too old to count
From where : Algonquin, Illinois 
Birthday : May 1
Favorite Quote : “The wound is the place where the light enters you.” Of course.

1.Describe yourself as a writer and as a reader.

👉I’m a voracious reader, but a very picky one. I can’t stick to a story if it doesn’t interest me. I skip, I skim, I read very fast. But when a book enthralls me, I think about it for days and days to come. As a writer, I am more laid back, more truthful. I write what I feel, regardless of whether it will give me away.

2. Why do you write the kind of books that you write?

👉 I’m just a hopeless romantic who believes in love! I write Romance books because I’m in a romantic relationship with my life. Love makes you do the dumbest, most unexpected things, and I think that’s the way I live. I jump in with eyes closed. And I love with all my heart. (If I like you)

3. If you can have coffee or tea with an author who is it and why?

👉 I’m so lucky, I’ve had coffee and tea with so many authors whom I idolize! But I have always been crazy about Paul Coelho. It would be nice to sit with him one day and pick his brain. I want to feel the serenity emanating from his words, I want his advice about life.  

4. How do you feel when you get a rating lower or equal than 3/5?

👉 I’ve never been asked this question in an interview before!  Of course, every author who puts his/her work out there in the world feels vulnerable and exposed. You’ve basically put your heart out on the line and people feel like they have a right to bash it to pieces. Once you publish a book, you’re fair game. I always tell myself that. No one forced me to write a book. That’s the risk I took when I decided to share my words with people. So, do I feel bad about low ratings? Of course I do. Every comment, every criticism is a learning opportunity.

5. If you would review your own books what would you say to yourself?

👉 I would say, “you’re not good enough. Keep trying.”  I’m so driven and such a perfectionist that I could never sit back and wait. I go for things. I’ve always been that way.

6. Top 3 favorite books of all time?

👉 The Thornbirds by  Colleen McCollough
The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher
Hassfrau by Jill Essbaum

7. Craziest writing ritual?

👉Writing on my hand and on sheets of toilet paper with an eyebrow pencil whenever the idea strikes me.

8. How did you get your books published?

👉I self published my first three books without even thinking about traditional publishing. And then I got an Agent who shopped the fourth book out to publishers. Little did I know that it will take more than 3 months to get that done…..I got too impatient. I needed to get ITL out to the readers.

9. Among your works, What is your favorite?

👉 I think it’s a tie between His Wounded Light and In This Life. I wrote HWL in four months, I still can’t believe I did that. And that was probably during the most difficult time in my life so the words were very real. In This Life, I wrote after my acceptance of certain situations, so this book is my peace offering.

10. What was the hardest part of writing a book?

👉 Writing a book, haha. There is so much of you that goes into writing a book. Not just your time. There’s a piece of you that you lose when you release a book into the public.

Short message to readers and aspiring authors.

👉 KEEP WRITING!  There is room for everyone in this industry. The Indie Publishing World is filled with many opportunities.  Own you words, write what you want, say what you please and be proud of it.

And that’s it! I sure hope you enjoyed her answers just as much as I did and I really enjoyed working with her. I lover her to bits and I recommend her books especially In This Life which is still 99 cents in Amazon but not for long, just two days from now! So go go go! Thank you all for reading! 😉

image

Christine Brae is a full time career woman who thought she could write a book about her life and then run away as far as possible from it. She never imagined that her words would touch the hearts of so many women with the same story to tell. Her second book, His Wounded Light was released in December, 2013.  Christine’s third book, Insipid, is a standalone that was released in June, 2014, and her fourth book, In This Life is scheduled for release in January 2016.   When not listening to the voices in her head or spending late nights at the office, Christine can be seen shopping for shoes and purses, running a half marathon or spending time with her husband and three children in Chicago.

image

👑Website
👑Facebook
👑Twitter
👑Instagram
👑Goodreads

image

Leave a Reply

