Royal Blog Tour #4 : Forget Tomorrow by Pintin Dunn + Giveaway

image

Copy was given by the author in exchange for a honest review for the blogtour and in no way affects my views and opinions about the book.
Blog tour hosted by Raf from The Royal Polar Bear Reads

image

 photo 1453189980795_zps00sb23hq.jpg

Imagine a world where your destiny has already been decided…by your future self.

It’s Callie’s seventeenth birthday and, like everyone else, she’s eagerly awaiting her vision―a memory sent back in time to sculpt each citizen into the person they’re meant to be. A world-class swimmer. A renowned scientist.

Or in Callie’s case, a criminal.

In her vision, she sees herself murdering her gifted younger sister. Before she can process what it means, Callie is arrested and placed in Limbo―a prison for those destined to break the law. With the help of her childhood crush, Logan, a boy she hasn’t spoken to in five years, she escapes the hellish prison.

But on the run from her future, as well as the government, Callie sets in motion a chain of events that she hopes will change her fate. If not, she must figure out how to protect her sister from the biggest threat of all—Callie, herself.

 photo 1453190130151_zpsjbcegvn0.jpg

Writing? Check
Plot? Check
World Building? Check
Characters? Ugh instalurveee
Originality? I don’t know but it resembles Divergent so much that it kind of irked me out.
I have to say that even though reading was quite a bit Divergent trilogy all over again, it was good. It wasn’t the best but I liked it. For dystopian fans out there, this is highly recommended. But one thing is for sure, if you have read Divergent already, don’t compare. Okay? There were similarities but I am sure it’s just a coincidence. The rating I’ll give is probably a little low for others but my 3s are my 4s so It’s in the middle of 3 and 4. The only thing preventing me to give it 4 stars is because of the instalove and predictability of some parts but all in all I liked it.

 photo 1453190564622_zpsq2pt87vp.jpg

Overall rating? 3/5 Royal stars, 4 if instalove not included.

 photo 1453190215380_zpsfev80yza.jpg

So let’s start. Writing style. It was actually good. It was direct to the point but let’s you think on your own too. They were times when I felt lost but I eventually get up because the author has a way of bouncing you back at the character’s line of thought. Yes, there were parts that were pretty predictable because it’s kind of a common YA plot, but I think I’ll let it slide. It is a page turner if you’ll turn a blind eye on the predictable parts.

Plot. It was a promising plot. Predictable but promising at most. This could even past as a stand alone. I saw that ending a mile away and was not even surprised on how it ended. The heroine has selfless and sacrifice written all over her face. I also want a lot more background on the father so I think I’ll be reading the next books.

World Building. I love the utopia set up then a rogue community is in hiding. I would like to have more visualization on what the world looks like when everybody at the right age know their future memories. I would also like the time travel angle be more pronounced on the sequel. 

Characters. A lot of the characters here have issues on guilt and self blame and that dragged the story for me a bit. I would have liked my characters know who know what wrong they did, don’t ever forget it but move on with life. It also has a component of instalove or instant attraction from both the male and female lead characters. It’s mainly the reason for my 3 star rating. So if the romance was toned down a bit then it would really get so much better.

Originality. Will keep this one short. If it didn’t remind you of Divergent then there will be no point of me explaining this. If it did then, yay you.

Overall I just want to say that I really liked it and the things that just irked me out are the predictability and instalove. Tone it down a bit and I will be fangirling.

That’s it! Thank you guys for reading! 😘

 photo 1453276093067_zpsjkv2fpgx.jpg

a Rafflecopter giveaway

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

image

Pintip Dunn graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL. She also published an article in the YALE LAW JOURNAL, entitled, “How Judges Overrule: Speech Act Theory and the Doctrine of Stare Decisis,”

Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. She is a 2012 RWA Golden Heart® finalist and a 2014 double-finalist. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Washington Romance Writers, YARWA, and The Golden Network.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland. You can learn more about Pintip and her books at www.pintipdunn.com

 photo 1453190418200_zpsgirciaaj.jpg

One thought on “Royal Blog Tour #4 : Forget Tomorrow by Pintin Dunn + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

