The Queen’s Book Talk # 31 : The Song of David by Amy Harmon

image

ebook, 285 pages

Published June 13th 2015

Series The Law of Moses #2

Characters Amelie “Millie” Anderson, David “Tag” Taggert

Setting Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) 

 photo 1453189980795_zps00sb23hq.jpg

This is David ‘Tag’ Taggert’s book, a supporting character introduced in The Law of Moses. This is a stand-alone story, but it is highly recommended that The Law of Moses be read first to avoid spoilers. 

She said I was like a song. Her favorite song. A song isn’t something you can see. It’s something you feel, something you move to, something that disappears after the last note is played.

I won my first fight when I was eleven years old, and I’ve been throwing punches ever since. Fighting is the purest, truest, most elemental thing there is. Some people describe heaven as a sea of unending white. Where choirs sing and loved ones await. But for me, heaven was something else. It sounded like the bell at the beginning of a round, it tasted like adrenaline, it burned like sweat in my eyes and fire in my belly. It looked like the blur of screaming crowds and an opponent who wanted my blood. 

For me, heaven was the octagon.

Until I met Millie, and heaven became something different. I became something different. I knew I loved her when I watched her stand perfectly still in the middle of a crowded room, people swarming, buzzing, slipping around her, her straight dancer’s posture unyielding, her chin high, her hands loose at her sides. No one seemed to see her at all, except for the few who squeezed past her, tossing exasperated looks at her unsmiling face. When they realized she wasn’t normal, they hurried away. Why was it that no one saw her, yet she was the first thing I saw?

If heaven was the octagon, then she was my angel at the center of it all, the girl with the power to take me down and lift me up again. The girl I wanted to fight for, the girl I wanted to claim. The girl who taught me that sometimes the biggest heroes go unsung and the most important battles are the ones we don’t think we can win. 

 photo 1453190130151_zpsjbcegvn0.jpg

The story of Tag, bestfriend of Moses. The Law of Moses is one of the most diverse books I have read last year. And I am so glad that Ms. Harmon did not dissappoint. I was afraid to read this book as I started because of the situation ( which you will eventually figure out ) may or may not break my heart in the end. I was so afraid I messaged Amy and she assurred me that I should read on and she woukd support me once I was finished. I admit I was a tad wee broken but I loved it! I love how everythong was justified in the end and I love how it turned out. This book will make you understand and appreciate life more especially when challenges strike you.

 photo 1453190616723_zpsryf4k2lk.jpg

I give this book 4/5 stars. I loved Moses more but I love the family dynics of this one. Yay for Henry and the Tag Team!

 photo 1453190215380_zpsfev80yza.jpg

Alternate POVs. This one is amazing. We hear two sides of the story. One from Tag’s back story on why he left and one from Moses after Tag left. This was why I was so afraid. I feel that Tag will freaking die in the end so we have to relish his presence in this cassette tapes and I will not accept that! I cannot! Moses POVs are full of emotion. It let’s you peek in his feeling for Tag and it is overflowing. We can all feel here how much Tag means to him and how scared he is of losing him. Moses rarely shows his emotions and seeing and feeling them in this book takes it in a whole new level.

Tag! I love Tag because he’s the typical bad boy softie you will surely love. I swooned over him while he took care of Millie. I love that he lets her have her independence but at the same time take care of her. His disappearing act both showed his courage and selfishness all the same time. He braved to face death alone but he also wanted no one to see him weak thus leaving them all of a sudden made it all justifiable.

Millie! You can feel how strong she is. She may be blind but there are times that even she is stronger than Tag. She doesn’t want to be handled like a fragile porcelain doll but instead as a full grown capable woman and I admire her for that. The way she handled Tag and Henry and alltheir struggles was amazing.

The ending. I still don’t know how to interpret it but I’d like to think that Tag didn’t die and Moses just doesn’t see him often so he said that. But Any said that I can interpret it whatever I want to so I did and that is that.

PS. I LOVED TAG TEAM AND HENRY 💖

Thanks for reading!

 photo 1453190418200_zpsgirciaaj.jpg

One thought on “The Queen’s Book Talk # 31 : The Song of David by Amy Harmon

Leave a Reply

