The Queen’s Book Talk # 33 : You ( You #1 ) by Caroline Kepnes

image

Kindle Edition, 433 pages

Published September 30th 2014 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books (first published September 25th 2014)

 photo 1453189980795_zps00sb23hq.jpg

From debut author Caroline Kepnes comes You, one of Suspense Magazine’s Best Books of 2014, and a brilliant and terrifying novel for the social media age.

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

A terrifying exploration of how vulnerable we all are to stalking and manipulation, debut author Caroline Kepnes delivers a razor-sharp novel for our hyper-connected digital age. You is a compulsively readable page-turner that’s being compared to Gone Girl, American Psycho, and Stephen King’s Misery.

 photo 1453190130151_zpsjbcegvn0.jpg

Dragging. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the book but to be honest it was a hard read. It was dragging in the way that I need to know what would be the end of all this. I was scared and creeped out and amaze on how Joe can twist my mind to being on his side. Joe would be a great match for Amy from Gone Girl I tell you. There are times when I myself justifies what he does but damn. Damn it was so creepy what one can do when someone is so obsessed. For a minute I was scared to use my email, twitter or any social media app. Or even go to a bookstore! I know! All the references were drowning me and I love it! Kudos to Ms. Kepnes. I am looking forward to Hidden Bodies but not yet so soon. I’ll rest my head from all the  creepy things for a while thank you very much. Highly Recommended!

 photo 1453190616723_zpsryf4k2lk.jpg

Giving it 4 Royal stars because I am satisfied with what happened and I love Joe don’t judge me.

 photo 1453190215380_zpsfev80yza.jpg

Daaaaaaaaaamn Joe killed them all! Literally, people. I thought he wouldn’t kill Beck but fuck he did! I was cringing all throughout the book I tell you. There were times I need to stop tp gather my wits again and brave myself and hope that this is just fiction and that this can’t surely be possible to happen in real life because if it is then I’m out of here.

If you veer out of Joe’s POV, you can see that Beck is just a normal girl. The ignoring, the girl talk, the tendency to go for the bad boy and the rich, it’s all there. She portrays the normal audacities of a woman. That was why I was afraid to think that this kind of thing can happen to any woman out there. The tendency to get stalked just soared up the sky. Beck obviously has issues but who doesn’t?

Joe. Brilliant fucking Joe killing off anyone who will be brave enough to steak what he wants. His is so freaking brilliant and I wonder if he will ever get caught and if that happens what will he do. He’s so smart it’s scary. The way he handled all the near caught situations he encountered was hands down amazing. The things he did to Candace and now Beck are outright vicious but yet in the back of your mind be honest and tell me, dosn’t he made it feel like what he did was all right. I wouldn’t get to all the details but damn Joe was good.

Here’s to hoping I can recover from the trauma named Joe. 😂 Thanks for reading you guys! 😉

 photo 1453190418200_zpsgirciaaj.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Queen’s Book Talk # 33 : You ( You #1 ) by Caroline Kepnes

Leave a Reply

