[ Queen’s Blog Feature ] : Author of the Month : Ms. Amy Harmon

image

I was contemplating about life the other night, then remembered I don’t have my Author of the Month for March yet! Because it was 4 in the morning and I was running in no sleep, I decided to ask Ms. Harmon if she can answer a few questions. I didn’t even expect her to answer but she did and spared me time despite her crazy schedule. 😍

Name : Amy Harmon
Age :  Young
From where : Utah
Birthday : October
Favorite Quote : I have too many to count. I love words.

1. Describe yourself as a writer and as a reader.

◆ As a reader, I simply require that a book be well-written. I like all genres especially when they are sprinkled with romance.

2. Why do you write the kind of books that you write?

◆ I write what I understand, and I feel like I have a very sympathetic understanding of human nature and young love. I want to write books that leave a lighter mark on the world, that make people sigh and want to be better.

3. If you can have coffee or tea with an author who is it and why? 

◆ I would love to visit with Dean Koontz. He has always intrigued me. I also suspect Mia Sheridan and I would be very good friends and I would love to spend time with her. Tarryn Fisher makes me laugh and she has a very good heart beneath that lovely sassy exterior.

4. How do you feel when you get a rating lower or equal than 3/5?

◆ It depends on the reasoning and the critique. All criticism isn’t negative.

5. If you would review your own books what would you say to yourself?

◆ I would love to be able to wipe my memory clean and judge my books as a reader. I think that would be incredibly helpful.

6. Top 3 favorite books of all time?

◆ I truly can’t narrow it down to just three. I love too many books.

7. Craziest Writing rituals?

◆ I am am mom of four, so there is no time or luxury for rituals. I write when I can and often have to force myself forward. It is work.

8. How did you get your books published?

◆ I published myself until I started getting noticed. I have contracts all over the world now, but I had to do it myself first.

9. Among your works, What is your favorite?

◆ I know how hard I worked on every book, so I don’t have a favorite. There are things I appreciate about every book.

10. What was the hardest part of writing a book?

◆ Committing to see it through. Being consistent, believing in myself enough not to give up. Being vulnerable and brave at the same time.

Short message to readers and aspiring authors.

◆ Don’t write to be famous or rich. Write because you are damn good at it. And if you’re not, get that way.

That’s it you guys! Thank you again, Ms. Harmon for accepting my invitation. You should read her books you guys! I love Song of David the best and I have yet to try Making Faces. If you have read her books, share with me your opinion in the comment below. Thanks for reading! ;)☺

image

image

Amy Harmon is a USA Today, Wall Street Journal and New York Times Bestselling author of eight novels – the USA Today Bestsellers, Making Faces and Running Barefoot, as well as The Law of Moses, Infinity + One, Slow Dance in Purgatory, Prom Night in Purgatory, and the New York Times Bestseller, A Different Blue. Her latest novel, The Song of David, was released on June 13, 2015. 

She knew at an early age that writing was something she wanted to do, and divided her time between writing songs and stories as she grew. Having grown up in the middle of wheat fields without a television, with only her books and her siblings to entertain her, she developed a strong sense of what made a good story. Her books are now being published in several countries, truly a dream come true for a little country girl from Levan, Utah.

 photo 1453190418200_zpsgirciaaj.jpg

Leave a Reply

