Royal Blog Tour # 6 : The Midnight Sea ( The Fourth Element Series #1 ) by Kat Ross

image

ebook, 326 pages
Expected publication: May 10th 2016 by Acorn Publishing (first published March 26th 2016)
Original Title : The Midnight Sea
ISBN13 9780997236200
Series : The Fourth Element Series #1

image

Review copy was provided by the author as part of The Midnight Sea Blog Tour hosted by Rafael of The Royal Polar Bear Reads and in no way whatsoever influences my review of the book. Thank you.

 photo 1453189980795_zps00sb23hq.jpg

They are the light against the darkness. 

The steel against the necromancy of the Druj. 

And they use demons to hunt demons…. 

Nazafareen lives for revenge. A girl of the isolated Four-Legs Clan, all she knows about the King’s elite Water Dogs is that they bind wicked creatures called daevas to protect the empire from the Undead. But when scouts arrive to recruit young people with the gift, she leaps at the chance to join their ranks. To hunt the monsters that killed her sister.  Scarred by grief, she’s willing to pay any price, even if it requires linking with a daeva named Darius. Human in body, he’s possessed of a terrifying power, one that Nazafareen controls. But the golden cuffs that join them have an unwanted side effect. Each experiences the other’s emotions, and human and daeva start to grow dangerously close.  As they pursue a deadly foe across the arid waste of the Great Salt Plain to the glittering capital of Persepolae, unearthing the secrets of Darius’s past along the way, Nazafareen is forced to question his slavery—and her own loyalty to the empire. But with an ancient evil stirring in the north, and a young conqueror sweeping in from the west, the fate of an entire civilization may be at stake… 

 photo 1453190130151_zpsjbcegvn0.jpg

At first, it seemed that the book was not gripping enough but as it went on, I loved it!  It was well written, well researched and a joy to read even with all the gore. I had slight difficulty with remembering the names of people and places maybe because of its medieval persian origin but I do took the time to highlight them when I needed to so I won’t forget. I thought that this book was just another fantasy book with a love interest but I was wrong. It was a whole new adventure that every one has to discover. Highly recommended for everyone that loves fantasy and a bit of retelling! Promising start of a series and I will surely look forward for the next book. ❤

 photo 1453190658879_zpsjbixfvq2.jpg

5/5 STARS! I’m breaking a rule here because I don’t give 5 stars to series starters but IT IS THAT GOOD.

 photo 1453190215380_zpsfev80yza.jpg

Okay, on writing, At first it was chaos really. Everything happened so fast and time flew rapidly that I thought I would get lost and not connect to the characters at all. Then a little before halfway of the book, it started to be even paced, not so fast and not so slow either. Sometimes I get lost on the names and places and new characters but I got used to it as I went through it. The authors way of presenting things has a very simple but yet deep approach especially on intense scenes.

On characters, Nazafareen is a brave, strong, smart and loyal sister, Water Dog, friend and bonded. I love how she sees the good in everyone. Yes she may be naive at first and fighting for the wrong reasons but she know when to fight for her rights and when to follow. I love that she didn’t gave up on Darius and fought with him even he doesn’t want to. I loved that even if she  wants to seek revenge for her sister it doesn’t cloud her judgement. I love that she let herself grow and not just be an ordinary Water Dog.

Darius, on the other hand, I want to know more. I felt that he was kept in the dark and not really explored on this book so I am looking forward to more back story on the next book. I also want to know how he really feels about Nazafareen and pretty much what he feels about everyone.

Ilyas. Good man destroyed by tragedy and extreme loyalty to a cause to the extent of insanity. When Nazafareen thought that Ilyas was jealous because of her close relationship with Darius, I thought that he was likely a little bit attached to our girl but then Tommas getting killed happened ( which was so heartbreaking ) and that ship sunk bigtime! I understand why he did what he had to do but he shouldn’t have to blame Darius for Tommas’ death.

Druj, daevas, Immortals, Necromancers and all other magical creatures I would like to know morrof the backstory. I’m excited to meet Neblis and that plot twist of Alexander the Great. I love the Greek insertion because I am all for retellings. I am so excited for the next book! I can’t wait!

image

I’ve always loved to read more than anything in the world, especially so-called genre stories—mysteries, fantasy, sci-fi, thrillers, horror. I like books that take you by the hand and lead you out of the mundane. That ease back the curtain and show you the wondrous and dark and unexpected lurking just around the next corner. I worked in journalism for a long time before I returned to writing fiction. Guess which is more fun?

image

Links
Website: http://katrossbooks.com/index.html
Twitter: https://twitter.com/katrossauthor

 photo 1453190418200_zpsgirciaaj.jpg

Leave a Reply

