Book Talk # 23 ( 2017 ) : Antisocial by Jillian Blake

​Kindle Edition, 256 pages

Published May 16th 2017 by Delacorte Press

ASIN B01E2H3MCO

Alexandria Prep is hacked in this exhilarating whodunit set in the age of social media and the cloud—Pretty Little Liars meets WikiLeaks.

 

Senior spring at Alexandria Prep was supposed to be for sleeping through class and partying with friends. But for Anna Soler, it’s going to be a lonely road. She’s just been dumped by her gorgeous basketball star boyfriend—with no explanation. Anna’s closest friends, the real ones she abandoned while dating him, are ignoring her. The endearing boy she’s always had a complicated friendship with is almost too sympathetic.
But suddenly Anna isn’t the only one whose life has been upended. Someone is determined to knock the kings and queens of the school off their thrones: one by one, their phones get hacked and their personal messages and photos are leaked. At first it’s funny—people love watching the dirty private lives of those they envy become all too public. 
Then the hacks escalate. Dark secrets are exposed, and lives are shattered. Chaos erupts at school. As Anna tries to save those she cares about most and to protect her own secrets, she begins to understand the reality of our always-connected lives: 
Sometimes we share too much. 

Okay, first let me start with saying that this book, however short it was, gave such a strong message and no message at all at the same time. It made me kind of lost and found with the logic of it all. I would not want to spoil you readers on why but I just need to write that down for the record. I usually don’t do spoiler section before but I’ll do one for this so you can come back to it and look why I had this dillema. 

So for my non spoiler view, here are some of my thoughts. It was very well written. Every part was entertaining and not a page was wasted but I was finding so much more backstory. I wasn’t able to form any emotional attachment with the characters due to the somehow hurried way the story was told. I would have appreciated a much longer more personal backstory, not only with the antagonist but everyone on the squad. 

The book also tackled a big issue which is social media use. Everybody put things on spcial media, public and private, regardless of the consequences. This book may have just made me a little bit paranoid about my personal data being stolen. The thought creeps me out. 

One more thing that I was concerned with this book was the lack of parental involvement. It seemed that the parents were always away to guide the children and I am not blaming thrm but still sometimes work is not that important compared to your child’s well being. 

The book also took a look at two of the most common thing a teen experiences now a days : anxiety and depression. It showed that these conditions may be treated and help be improved with medications, talking to friends and families will always help in a big way. 

Giving this book 4 amazing stars, would have given a 5 if it was just a tiny bit longer with more resolutions and solutions to other problems but overall I am good with it.

I had the same feelings with 13 reasons why and this book with the difference that I actually get some of the message and logic of the book compared to 13 reasons why which was just completely pointless for me. Not sorry. It showed that Jethro was such a careless dude because he was clouded by his ‘love’ to Anna that he hacked some guys phone just to show her that she’s better off without her ex. Then at the end she seems he’s forgiving her? Like? Seriously? Somebody died because of all of it. It spiralled out from a simple hack to a school wide show. Everybpdy wanted to get revenge on everbody and it all just sucked. I know revenge feels right but books with these ideas can actually trigger people that have revenge ideas for a long time now. Revenge plots are a no no for me. Maybe that’s what prevented me for giving it a 5 star. I also needed it to have a lot more resolution on Anna’s anxiety with just that little glimpse. I wanted to focus on her behavior towards Palmer, Jethro and her friends more so I can relate to her. But anyways, the book was good. Just minus that revenge plot. 

Thank you guys for reading! 😘😘

Leave a Reply

